In the Kitchen: The worlds quickest pudding!

Yesterday was spent looking at bantams! We found a lovely breeder who had a huge selection of bantams for sale. We weren’t going to buy, just ask questions and try and choose a breed so as in a month or so we can get some. We didn’t manage to choose though as we loved them all. I think my very favorite were the Lavendar Pekins, but there was a hybrid breed there that were lovely too.

We need to get a roof put on our run and get some sand and also brick around it to fox proof it.

Anyway, we ended up rushing back via the shops as we had nothing in suitable for dinner as we had big J with us and unlike J and A, he is a fussy eater! I got ingredients for a cottage pie and made it while my dad was here so I never considered pudding as I was distracted.

It was 7pm when we sat down to eat and I realised there was no pudding and the boys were all expecting something yummy! So I made a steamed fruit pudding….without steaming!

I got a small cassrrole pot and put a few handfuls of mixed frozen berries in the bottom (enough to cover the bottom) I then lightly sprinkled with caster sugar and a few tablespoons of strawberry jam – the exact amount would depend on your dish size, it needs to be enough to make a sauce with the fruit. Next I made a sponge mixture using 2 small eggs, 100g of flour, 100g caster sugar, 100g of butter and 50ml milk. I mixed all the sponge ingredients in a mixer until smooth and fluffy, then poured on top of the fruit.

image

Then cook in the microwave for 5-10 mins until the sponge is firm and starting to come away from the sides of the dish. The exact time will vary depending of the dish used and the power of your microwave.

image

This was a huge sucess with the boys they loved it! It was yummy served with custard 🙂

image

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

