In the kitchen: Lime drizzle cake

Today I baked a cake for the first time in ages. We are going out for the day tomorrow and taking a picnic so I thought I would try a recipe I found HERE on Green Cooking Blog for lemon drizzle sponge with lime buttercream.

image

Out came my trusty mixer I’m unsure how old it is but I am 35 and it belonged to my Nan who passed away when I was 7!

I followed the recipe except I put the buttercream in the middle as it’s less messy to eat!

image

I baked as one sponge though, just so I could try out the cotton cutting method….look how straight it is!

image

The buttercream  is beautiful, I’m not usually a buttercream fan but the lime juice stops it being to sickly.

image

It’s a huge hit with everyone, hope there is some left for our picnic tomorrow!

Thanks for posting the recipe Will!

Leave a Reply

